Certifier : 
MRAG Americas, Inc.
Certified status : 
Certified since : 
14 Feb 2005
Certificate expires : 
13 Jan 2021


The Alaska pollock fishery is the largest fishery in North America.

Alaska pollock (also known as ‘walleye pollock’) are schooling, midwater to bottom-dwelling fish, usually found between 100m to 300m in depth. They can live up to 15 years and reach a length of 100 cm. Pollock occurs across the entire northern Pacific.

Pollock stocks in the US Bering Sea and Aleutian Islands (BSAI) are assessed separately from the smaller Gulf of Alaska stocks.

The BSAI pollock fishery is a midwater trawl fishery, with trawlers of 33-45m  in length making short trips and then offloading catches at shoreside plants. The fleet also includes large vessels that catch and process the fish at sea. Some smaller vessels deliver their catch directly to these floating processors.

Proportions of bycatch are very low (below 1%). Fishery regulations are in place to minimise fishing impacts on sea lions and other protected species.

Image © At-sea Processors Association