Certifier : 
Lloyds Register (Acoura)
Certified status : 
Certified with component(s) in assessment
Certified since : 
21 Dec 2011
Certificate expires : 
21 Sep 2023


The Western and Central Pacific skipjack tuna fishery targets schools of skipjack tuna around a number of Pacific islands. These islands are Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA) which ensures cooperation in the management of the region's fisheries. 
The certification covers fishing operations using a specialised method of fishing and only those targeting free swimming schools of mature tuna. The fishery does not use fish aggregating devices (also known as FADs) to bait the fish, which helps to reduce the incidental bycatch of non-target species. To be certified sustainable the fishery has also limited the number of days when fishing is allowed.

Skipjack are the smallest of the primary market species of tuna, are widely distributed in the Pacific Ocean and are fished as surface schooling adults typically at 2-5 kg in size. The fishery operates within the sea zone of numerous islands; Papua New Guinea, Kiribati, FS Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

Small islands, big opportunities
Read the story of PNA tuna >

Fishermen hauling net image © Maarten van Rouveroy / www.pacifical.com