Certifier : 
Lloyds Register (Acoura)
Certified status : 
Certified since : 
22 Feb 2018
Certificate expires : 
21 Feb 2023


The red king crab (Paralithodes camtschaticus), is also known as the Kamchatka crab or Alaskan king crab. The species is native to the Bering sea and was introduced to the Barents Sea around Murmansk in north west Russia in the 1960s. Red king crabs can grow as large as 28 cm (11 inches - carapace) with a leg span of up 1.8 m (5.9 ft). 

The Association of Crab Catchers of North (the fishery client) was established as a non-profit organisation in 1992. It currently possesses 10 crab vessels, used to carry crab from the fishing ground in the Russian Economic Zone (REZ) to Murmansk. Crabs are harvested during the autumn-winter period between August and December, using pots